American Street by Ibi Zoboi

The comparison titles alone made me thrilled to finally read this book: “For fans of Everything, Everything, Bone Gap, and All-American Boys.” And American Street lived up to its comps, telling the gorgeous and gut-wrenching story of Fabiola Toussaint, a Haitian immigrant adapting to life in Detroit on the corner of Joy Road and American Street. When Fabiola andContinue reading “American Street by Ibi Zoboi”

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

I promise I’m not just reviewing Shadowshaper because of how pretty the cover is going to look on my homepage. …Well, okay, that’s a big plus! But the cover’s not the only gorgeous thing about this book. There is so much for kidlit writers to learn from Daniel José Older’s YA novel Shadowshaper. [Note: mild spoilers ahead!] 1. Work hardContinue reading “Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older”